"Fleisher turned in an absolutely spellbinding performance that built steadily, with a kind of distilled, august power, to a breathtaking climax…his musicianship — is nothing short of Olympian."

-  The Washington Post

Orchestra Hall
3711 Woodward Ave, Detroit

75th Season Grande Finale

Leon Fleisher, piano
Attacca Quartet
Catalyst Quartet
Dover Quartet
Harlem Quartet
Sonia Lee, violin & Rachel Calin, bass (Mozart)


Mendelssohn: Octet for Strings in E-flat major, Op 20
Jessie Montgomery: Trading Fours (world premiere)*
J.S. Bach: Sheep May Safely Graze, from Cantata 208, arr. Egon Petri
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K. 414

*commissioned jointly by the CMSD audience

Click here to learn more about the 75th Season Commission!  

In a fitting conclusion to an historic season, the CMSD returns to Orchestra Hall, its home for more than 20 of its 75 years. Four of America’s most exciting young string quartets -- the Attacca, Catalyst, Dover and Harlem Quartets -- are joined by the legendary Leon Fleisher for a truly memorable season finale program.

The concert opens with a game of musical chairs in Mendelssohn’s youthful Octet, followed the world premiere of "Trading Fours", a new work by Catalyst Quartet member and composer Jessie Montgomery commissioned by the CMSD audience for this concert.  The second half opens with Mr. Fleisher in a solo performance of Egon Petri's affecting transcription of J.S. Bach's Sheep May Safely Graze (Cantata 208), and concludes with Mr. Fleisher as piano soloist in Mozart’s lovely Concerto in A major, K. 414.

Join us for this extraordinary concert as we celebrate our distinguished history and look forward to an exciting future.