“Cellist Alisa Weilerstein and pianist Inon Barnatan have forged an extraordinarily sympathetic collaboration that has genuine chemistry.”


Seligman Performing Arts Center
22305 W. 13 Mile Road (at Lahser)
Beverly Hills, MI 48025

Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Inon Barnatan, piano

     Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5 No. 1
     Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5 No. 2
     Cello Sonata No. 3 in A major, Op. 69
     Cello Sonata No. 4 in C major, Op. 102, No. 1
     Cello Sonata No. 5 in D major, Op. 102, No. 2

The eagerly anticipated return of pianist Inon Barnaton and CMSD debut of cellist Alisa Weilerstein brings two of the world’s most celebrated young artists – and frequent collaborators – to the Chamber Music Society’s stage.  Their performance of the Beethoven’s complete five cello sonatas provides a remarkable snapshot of each of the master’s main three style periods: early, middle and late. 

Inon Barnatan is widely acclaimed as a true poet of the keyboard: refined, searching, and unfailingly communicative.  His sincerity and expressiveness bring audiences into each phrase as if hearing them for the first time, rivaling his technical abilities and sensitive phrasing.  Cellist Alisa Weilerstein’s passion, commitment and breathtaking technique combined with undeniable musicianship make her one of today’s most exciting artists.  Together, these two artists offer an alluring and passionate musical evening not to be missed.

Their recent collaborative concerts have received the highest accolades, including this one from the San Francisco Classical Voice, citing their “extraordinary communication:” “Weilerstein and Barnatan played the entire program as if they were a single telepathic unit. She could be facing the audience and he not watching her, yet all entrances or sudden chords were precisely played together at the same instant.”