"Fleisher turned in an absolutely spellbinding performance that built steadily, with a kind of distilled, august power, to a breathtaking climax…his musicianship — is nothing short of Olympian."

-  The Washington Post

Orchestra Hall
3711 Woodward Ave, Detroit

75th Season Grande Finale

Mendelssohn: Octet for Strings in E-flat major, Op 20
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K. 414
Jessie Montgomery: newly commissioned work
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48

Click here to learn more about the 75th Season Commission!  

In a fitting conclusion to an historic season, the CMSD returns to Orchestra Hall, its home for more than 20 of its 75 years. Four of America’s most exciting young string quartets -- the Attacca, Catalyst, Dover and Harlem Quartets -- are joined by the legendary Leon Fleisher for a truly memorable season finale program.

The concert opens with a game of musical chairs in Mendelssohn’s youthful Octet, followed by Fleisher as piano soloist in Mozart’s lovely Concerto in A Major, K. 414. The concert continues with the world premiere of a new work by Catalyst Quartet member and composer Jessie Montgomery, and concludes with Fleisher as conductor in Tchaikovsky’s stirring Serenade for Strings.

Join us for this extraordinary concert – included as a final event on every CMSD subscription package this season – as we celebrate our distinguished history and look forward to an exciting future.